days with lucille

I can’t even begin to tell you how much I’ve loved my Tuesdays and Thursdays with Lucille (my practicum has been M/W/F). I’ve tried not to think about how these days of talking, crawling, playing, reading, and walking Pasadena together are coming to an end (for now), but the inevitable cloud is descending as classes start up next week. She’s been the greatest surprise possible in my life (I know, I know- it’s what they all say. But I’m realizing it’s actually true for me- what?!), and honestly Nate and I couldn’t feel more blessed to be her parents. Ah. That smile. Those 2 bottom teeth. Her grunts when she gets all excited and worked up. The morning hugs and open mouth kisses. I don’t want to miss a single second. But I also know a little space is good for us sometimes. So I’ll forge ahead, with the knowledge that this particular season is 8 months, and then we’ll reevaluate.

Leave a Reply

