weekend recipe: creamy tomato mushroom pasta

I’ve never had much of an affinity for mushrooms. It’s a texture thing – it just doesn’t seem right to eat rubber. One of my favorite meals growing up was a mushroom pilaf that was incredibly delicious . . . when the mushrooms were picked out so as not to trigger my gag reflex. I’m almost 30 though (oh my) and picking at my food doesn’t seem becoming for a 30-year-old. It speaks to a much (much) younger Holly who was afraid of spinach, fish, and Chinese food. Now in my late twenties it’s hello green smoothies and Panda Express!

With all their health benefits, coming to terms with the texture and including them in our diet seems like a good idea. Low in calories, high in vitamin D and antioxidants – they have cancer preventing, metabolism boosting, and immune supporting properties(!).

Thankfully, Angela from Oh She Glows makes the adjustment easy. This recipe is so delicious, had I not been the one to make it, I may have never noticed it was full of mushrooms (the key was chopping them up super small). If you think you might also like to add mushrooms to your diet, I recommend starting here!

* * I use TJ’s organic whole wheat fusilli (doesn’t taste like cardboard), and the nutritional yeast in this recipe makes a difference and is definitely worth tracking down at a grocery.

final clarification: I’m really not a picky eater – except for those pesky water chestnuts…

Leave a Reply

