some thoughts at midnight

IMG_3155 IMG_3231

I wrote this a few weeks back…

It was midnight and I was burping Lucille- her tiny body in my arms, my cheek feeling the peach fuzz on her head. She was fixated on a little blue night light in the room. Completely mesmerized which cracked me up because it’s nothing special to anyone but her. I kept thinking about how new she is and how little she knows of well, everything. She’s this beautifully clean slate- not a scar or heartache- with so much life and moments ahead of her, God willing. I love that I get to be a part of her discoveries, and part of this process. It’s wonderful, and beautiful, and oh so endearing. And it gives me the chance to appreciate things I started taking for granted decades ago…

2 thoughts on “some thoughts at midnight

Leave a Reply

