on this latest transition

For months I was fairly nervous about the impending transition to mom-of-a-newborn. In what sounds somewhat contradictory, I am both highly adaptable (my StrengthsFinder strength #2), while also being wildly slow at transitioning. I can’t even tell you how slow (but Nate can. or my dad).

According to StrengthsFinder, “people who are especially talented in the adaptability theme prefer to ‘go with the flow.’ They tend to be ‘now’ people who take things as they come and discover the future one day at a time.” And according to my Mac dictionary, transitioning is “the process or a period of changing from one state or condition to another.”

You would think one would inform the other, but alas, for me that just isn’t the case. I need a good amount of time to make the change, and tend to be fairly hard on myself along the way. The last three weeks of transition have presented its challenges (and its pleasant surprises). I can’t tell you for sure what the whole process will end up looking like, or how long it might take, but I can tell you Nate and Lucille have made the whole thing much easier on me. Lucille is just so stinkin sweet and patient, and Nate has probably changed more diapers than I have. And as always, he gives both baby girl and me a sense of calm and confidence. I am a very lucky girl moving forward.

*The first few pics are of Lucille’s first restaurant experience (Tender Greens). She slept the whole time- so sweet to let her dad and me have a dinner date. :)

6 thoughts on “on this latest transition

  1. Congratulations… again! You and Nate look great, as though you haven’t missed a minute of sleep ;) I just wanted to thank you for this enlightening entry… about myself. I feel adaptable but very slow to transition. The paradox has “always” bewildered me. I still don’t get it, but I appreciate having the camaraderie and hearing the technical jargon. If your experience is similar to mine , I think you’re are going to feel “your groove” at three months! You are such a beautiful momma, Hollz! Big hugs for the Pelz family!

  2. I think back when Nate was in the hospital and he asked if he would one day be able to be a dad. Do you remember that? I can’t think for one minute God would not let you two have become parents. You will be amazing and the fact that it may take you a little more time to transition only shows you want to do your best. Lucille will grow up knowing more pure love than any child could ever imagine.

  3. Oh my gosh! Why are you outside with the baby? Please Holly! Go back inside and stay there. And don’t come out until May. Thank you. ;p- P.S. You look just as beautiful as ever. Love these photos, too.

  4. Shannon, I DO remember that! Oh my gosh, I can’t believe YOU do! But so special to me- to think back on that memory and where we are now. So glad you share in that with us… :)

Leave a Reply

