friday favorite: walking

I admit, on first read, you’re probably thinking, “What a boring favorite.  So generic.”  And you would be right if we were talking about walking to the mailbox or the paper goods isle at Ralph’s.

But walking, not because you have to, but because you choose to…on a sunny, 75 degree day.  Through beautiful streets, and past interesting people.  The occasional soundtrack playing in your ears, or the prospect of bumping into a friend.  The time it allows for contemplation or clearing your mind.  The way you feel afterwards, knowing you got a little exercise and fresh air…

These days I walk just about everywhere- to the grocery, Starbucks, Michael’s (even though I’d rather it was a Hobby Lobby), out for dinner, and even to the movie theater.  And I like to think that even if I wasn’t urban living, I’d find just as many excuses to walk.

I snapped this picture on my iphone as I walked through Pasadena the other day…

Enjoy your Friday!

Leave a Reply

