friday favorite: keurig

It’s rare to find people who don’t enjoy coffee these days, so to express my love at length feels redundant.  But I will tell you the (short) story of my first cup…

I was eleven, at family camp in Muskegon, Michigan, and had to sneak it in the lodge because I was “too young to be drinking coffee yet.”  It was loaded with sugar and cream and it. was. thrilling.  I was fairly sophisticated and unusually responsible the rest of the week after unlocking the mystery of the (adult) drink.  And I was intrigued enough to acquire a taste for black coffee only a few years later.

The feeling’s mutual for Nate, so during our morning routine, we french press, use a percolator, a milk frother, or…

a Keurig.

It was a Christmas gift from our good friends, the Oatmans, two years ago, and I’m reminded almost every morning how exceptional a gift it was/is.

I can attest to its convenience, ease of use, and to its production of a great, single cup of coffee, tea, or hot chocolate.  More than 200 brews exist to choose from, but Pelz favorites include Wolfgang Puck’s Breakfast in Bed, Folger’s Vanilla Biscotti, Tully’s Italian Roast, and Twining’s Earl Grey and Pure Peppermint.  There’s also the option of using your own grounds, which we’ve been taking advantage of more recently.

Prices vary, but I think it’s possible to find a basic one for under $100 or… a cadillac version for around $250.

If you’re considering it (or recently came into some money), I say go for it.

2 thoughts on “friday favorite: keurig

Leave a Reply

