Listening to stories…

Ghostly - 8x8 Original Signed Fine Art Photograph

“A number of times in my life I have felt myself bursting with insoluble problems, or going round and round in tormented circles or, during one period, overcome by feelings of worthlessness and despair.  I have been able to find individuals who have been able to hear me and thus rescue me from the chaos of my feelings and who have been able to hear my meanings a little more deeply than I have known them…

It is astonishing how elements that seem insoluble become soluble when someone listens, how confusions which seemed irremediable turn into relatively clear flow-streams when one is heard.”

Carl Rogers, speech given at Cal Tech, 1964

2 thoughts on “Listening to stories…

  1. It’s always nice to hear that everyone worries and that everyone has fears and problems. It’s how we overcome them that matters!

Leave a Reply

