Casey

patobrianIt’s been an interesting few days at Starbucks.  Besides my regular customer, Pat O’Brian (former host of The Insider and co-anchor of Access Hollywood), who enjoys ordering a warmed apple fritter (the best thing we sell, according to him), and dropping money on all sorts of other things, I was caught off guard by the appearance of Jessica Capshaw a few days ago. jessicacapshaw The stepdaughter of Steven Spielberg, I recognized her almost immediately because of recently catching up on Grey’s Anatomy episodes (ABC.com) where she plays Dr. Arizona Robbins.  I played it cool, ringing her up and sending her drink off to the bar.  We exchanged smiles and the polite “have a nice day”.   She seemed like a nice person.

Today, however, tops them all.  As I was tearing off a piece of saran wrap to cover an opened box of blueberry oat bars, Casey Affleck joined us at Starbucks, Old Town Pasadena.  I held myself back from any further embarrassment (*previous Jimmy Kimmel/ Kevin James episode) but undoubtedly was staring with my typical eyes wide, mouth open, oblivious that I’m doing it- look (right, Allison-you know the one).  He sat alone in our crowded lobby, wearing jeans, a T-shirt, and old Nike’s.  At the end of my shift, Casey joined me in line as I ordered a to-go drink and he asked about our wireless service.  Standing right next to him, I couldn’t help but smile at his distinct (potentially annoying if you’ve seen The Assassination of Jesse James),  voice and wondering what he could possibly be doing alone in Pasadena…

caseyaffleckInteresting facts about Casey…he’s married to Joaquin Phoenix’s little sister, has a son named Indiana, majored in physics at Columbia, starred in all three Oceans, and recently starred in Gone Baby Gone, directed by his brother, Ben.

Okay, enough said,  It was cool.  Why?  I don’t know.  He’s just a normal person.

Still cool, though.

One thought on “Casey

  1. OH. Pat O’Brian. You were right, he definitely rang a bell when I saw the picture. Aren’t you the lucky one of us May sisters.

Leave a comment