weekend recipe: (vegan) corn casserole

If you grew up in the Midwest like I did, you probably also grew up eating lots of amazing casseroles. One of my most favorite things was Sunday church potlucks, when all the moms brought their all star casseroles – green bean casserole, tator tot casserole, variations of the chicken casserole, and my personal favorite: corn casserole (or scalloped corn as we called it in my house).

When my eating habits changed almost two years ago (for various health/personal reasons), I had to retire my corn casserole recipe card to the dark recesses of my tackiest recipe box. Because with two sticks of butter and 16oz of sour cream on the ingredient list, what else could I do?!

Fast forward to today: You don’t have to follow my blog that closely to know I have a crush on the Chocolate Covered Katie blog. I write about, make, and take pictures of her self-created recipes quite often. So it was with great satisfaction that after an hour of clicking through her posts, I found a recipe for a “lightened-up” corn casserole. Now… I’ve learned that original recipes adapted to be vegan don’t always live up to the name. So instead of calling something vegan mac & cheese, I need to call it something totally different – otherwise I can’t separate the two, and taste disappointment with every bite. Okay, not always, but often. So I kept my enthusiasm at bay until after making and tasting this version. Final verdict: it tastes healthy (or healthier than the original), but it also tastes delicious. I think you’d like it!

Note: if you opt for coconut oil over Earth Balance, expect a slight coconut flavor in the casserole. It’s not a bad thing necessarily, but if you’re not a fan of coconut, definitely use Earth Balance.

One thought on “weekend recipe: (vegan) corn casserole

  1. This looks yummy! I grew up in Wisconsin and the big casserole was the hashbrown potato one with the potato chips on top. I can’t remember corn casserole but I’ve driven through Indiana so many times and believe me I know why this was the popular one!

Leave a Reply

